Shapiro-Davis Inauguration Committee Includes LGBTQ Representation

QBurgh co-creator named to Governor-elect Shapiro's inauguration planning committee.

PA Governor-elect Josh Shapiro / Lt. Governor-elect Austin Davis

Pennsylvania Governor-Elect Shapiro and Lieutenant Governor-Elect Davis this week announced their Inaugural Committee. Of those tapped to help plan the Governor’s inauguration are community members Michele Kessler, who is Secretary-Treasurer of UFCW Local 1776 in Philadelphia, and Jeff Freedman, co-creator of QBurgh, Pittsburgh’s LGBTQ news source.

The group will lead the planning and execution of the Shapiro-Davis Inauguration on January 17, 2023. Co-chairs of the committee include:

  • Incoming First Lady Lori Shapiro, Honorary Co-Chair
  • Incoming Second Lady Blayre Holmes-Davis, Honorary Co-Chair
  • Darren J. Check, Partner at Kessler Topaz Meltzer & Check, LLP, Co-Chair
  • William Dunbar, Managing Partner at Dunbar Public Affairs & Associates Co-Chair
  • Vanessa DeSalvo Getz, President at SALVO Strategies, Co-Chair
  • Kenneth M. Jarin, Partner at Ballard Spahr LLP, Co-Chair
  • Michele Kessler, Secretary-Treasurer of UFCW Local 1776, Co-Chair

The full Shapiro-Davis Inaugural Committee consists of: 

  • Philip Ameris, President of the Laborers’ District Council of Western Pennsylvania 
  • Carolina DiGiorgio, Chief Executive Officer of Congreso
  • Varsovia Fernandez, CEO of PA CDFI Network
  • Jeff Freedman, Co-Creator of QBurgh 
  • Kata Himes, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine, Department of OB/GYN, University of Pittsburgh and University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
  • Shamsul Huda, Trustee to the Board at Bucks County Community College and Board President of the International Festival Foundation
  • Betsy Bechtolt Magley, Principal of Bcauses, LLC
  • Taneise Marshall, Self-Employed Small Business Owner
  • Mollie McCurdy, Retired Lawyer
  • Ruby Mundok, Students for Shapiro Chapter Lead and Millersville University Student
  • Evan Myers, Senior VP of Accuweather
  • Genesis Ortega, Communications Manager for the City of Allentown
  • Dennis Pagliotti, President & Business Manager of Bricklayers Local 1
  • Alison Perelman, Executive Director of Philadelphia 3.0
  • Todd Reidbord, Principal at Walnut Capital
  • Izzy Saler, Director of High School Students for Shapiro and Student at Lower Merion High School
  • Marla Tobe Werner, Co-Founder and CEO of Givver
  • Jill Zipin, Chairwoman of Democratic Jewish Outreach PA
QBurgh is your source for LGBTQ news and community resources in Pittsburgh and Western Pennsylvania. Be sure to subscribe to our weekly newsletter and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Want to write for us?