LGBTQ Leaders Across PA Endorse Judge Maria McLaughlin for Supreme Court

Over 30 LGBTQ Community Leaders

On Thursday, Superior Court Judge Maria McLaughlin’s campaign for Supreme Court announced a slate of endorsements from thirty-four LGBTQ elected officials and community leaders. This is the latest show of strong support for McLaughlin, who has spent the past year traveling across all 67 Counties to meet voters and hear their personal stories. Judge McLaughlin released the following statement regarding the endorsements:

“I’m honored to have the support of such incredible LGBTQ leaders from every corner of our Commonwealth. In 2011 when I ran for Common Pleas Court and again in 2017 during my campaign for Superior Court, the LGBTQ community showed my campaign so much energy and passion. Protecting equality has always been at the heart of my judicial philosophy, and I’m looking forward to being an experienced, principled, and compassionate Supreme Court Justice for all Pennsylvanians.”

Along with the individual LGBTQ endorsements listed, McLaughlin has earned the backing of numerous LGBTQ advocacy groups, including Ricky’s Pride PAC, the Gertrude Stein Political Club, Philadelphia Gay News, LGBTQ PA PAC, the Pennsylvania Democrats LGBT Caucus, the Liberty City LGBT Democratic Club, and the Steel City Stonewall Democrats.

A complete list of individual LGBTQ endorsers is below:

  • Malcolm Kenyatta, State Representative (HD181)
  • Brian Sims, State Representative (HD182)
  • Jessica Benham, State Representative (HD36)
  • Candida Affa, Allentown City Council Member
  • Jessica Rothchild, Scranton City Council Member
  • Sean Strub, Mayor of Milford Borough
  • Justin Correll, Mayor of Laurel Run Borough
  • David Bria, President of the Yardley Borough Council
  • Chris Dietz, President of the Millersburg Borough Council
  • Jessica Semler, Etna Borough Council Member
  • Amanda Sloane, Bellevue Borough Council Member
  • Tim Hayes, Dublin Borough Council Member
  • Ian Petrulli, Wilkinsburg Borough Council Member
  • Jonathan Warnock, Indiana Borough Council Member
  • Chris Kalcich, Selinsgrove Borough Council Member
  • Robert Szwajkos, Newton Borough Council Member
  • Lori Schreiber, Abington Township Commissioner
  • Anne Pavone, West Norriton Township Commissioner
  • Brad Mikitko, East Donegal Township Auditor
  • Alex Reber, Millersburg Borough Tax Collector
  • Tyler Titus, President of the Erie County School Board
  • Damien Warsavage, Upper Darby School Board Director
  • David Neill, Upper Darby School Board Director
  • Meredith Hegg, Upper Darby School Board Director
  • Jon Panofsky, Centennial School Board Director
  • Marisa Ziegler, Parkland School Board Director
  • Josie Byzek, Susquehanna Township School Board Director
  • Ben Allatt, Former Harrisburg City Council Member
  • Blade Kline, Former Yorkana Borough Council Member
  • Mariel JK Martin, Philadelphia Democratic Committeeperson (Treasurer – Ward 39B)
  • Mark Segal, LGBTQ activist and Founder of Philadelphia Gay News
  • Deja Alvarez, LGBTQ activist and candidate for State House District 182
  • Adrian Shanker, LGBTQ community leader from Lehigh County
  • Jonathan Lovitz, LGBTQ rights advocate and candidate for State House District 182
QBurgh is your source for LGBTQ news and community resources in Pittsburgh and Western Pennsylvania. Be sure to subscribe to our weekly newsletter and follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Want to write for us?