Steel City Stonewall Democrats 2022 Endorsement and New Leadership

Organization fails to endorse two prominent LGBTQ candidates

New Steel City Stonewall Democrats President C. Lee Hill. Photo by G. Michael Beigay.

The Steel City Stonewall Democrats held their annual spring endorsement meeting Sunday at P Town in Oakland. Along with the endorsement of the following candidates in the spring Democratic Primary, the membership elected C. Lee Hill to lead the organization for the year replacing long-time president Jim DePoe. Hill is a local area leatherman and the first person of color to lead the organization.

Notably, the organization did not endorse two prominent LGBTQ candidates, Brian Sims and Malcolm Kenyatta, in favor of candidates with local ties.

The candidates receiving the organization’s endorsement are:

US Senate: Conor Lamb
US House of Representative 12th: Summer Lee
US House of Representative 17th: Sean Meloy
Governor: Josh Shapiro
Lt Governor: Austin Davis
PA Senate 38: Lindsey Williams
PA Senate 42: Wayne Fontana
PA House 19: Aerion Andrew Abney
PA House 20: Emily Kinkead
PA House 21: Sara Innamorato
PA House 23: Dan Frankel
PA House 24: Martell Covington
PA House 25: Brandon Markosek
PA House 27: Dan Deasey
PA House 30: Arvind Venkat
PA House 33: Mandy Steele
PA House 34: Summer Lee
PA House 36: Jessica Benham
PA House 38: Nick Pisciottano
PA House 42: Dan Miller
PA House 45: Anita Astorino Kulik

Photos by G. Michael Beigay.